Plymouth Township election results no surprise

Aug. 5, 2020  PLYMOUTH VOICE.

Plymouth Michigan News




Don Howard

Staff Writer


Resident voters in Plymouth Township registered a laudable 43 percent turnout for Tuesday’s Michigan Primary Election, besting 2016 election participants by almost 10 percent. There were 10,343 votes cast. Absentee voting, included in the count, was unusually high this election, most likely due to the Coronavirus.

Six candidates, all Republicans, ran for the four open Trustee positions. Incumbents Gary Heitman and Jack Dempsey opted not to seek reelection. The four winners include long-time members of the board, Bob Doroshewitz and Chuck Curmi. Well qualified candidates won the other two open positions.  Stewart, an attorney, is a former township trustee and former state representative. Audrey Monaghan, also an attorney and former prosecutor, is a small businesswoman and pharmacist.

Candidates Dan Callahan and Don Schnettler were defeated and will not move on to the November general election.

Township Clerk Jerry Vorva, also a Republican, handily defeated former Deputy Clerk Sandy Groth by over 2,100 votes. Vorva will once again face Democrat Nancy Conzelman in November. Vorva defeated Conzelman in her campaign for reelection as clerk in 2016. She had also filed to seek a term as a trustee but withdrew her petiton by the filing deadline.

Unopposed on the ballot were Republicans, Township Supervisor Kurt Heise with 3,881 votes and Treasurer Mark Clinton received 3,641 votes.


Plymouth Township Clerk REP

Jerry Vorva           3,250

Sandra J. Groth   1,131


Plymouth Township Trustee REP

Bob Doroshewitz     2,910

Charles J. Curmi       2,844

Audrey Monaghan   2,655

John C. Stewart        2,443

Daniel E. Callahan   1,926

Don Schnettler        1,509


Plymouth Voice.


Previous post

Exercise your right to vote - voice your opinion

Next post

City adopts new rules for “bigfoot” homes